FOLIO ǀ PO BOX 702585, TULSA, OK 74170  ǀ  judy haught |




On Friday, October 26 at 1:30 in the afternoon, the Will Rogers Museum in Claremore was named an Oklahoma Literary Landmark and was placed on the National Literary Landmark Register.  The public was invited to attend the dedication ceremony and the reception which followed.  Friends of Libraries USA, FOLUSA, is the sponsor of the Register.  Friends of Libraries in Oklahoma , FOLIO, is the sponsor of the Oklahoma project.  Another major sponsor is The Cherokee Nation.  The Will Rogers Library, the Friends of the Will Rogers Library, and the Will Rogers Memorial and Museum are sponsors and were fully involved in the dedication.  The other Sponsors for the dedication of the Will Rogers Memorial Museum as an Oklahoma Literary Landmark were the following groups:  Oklahoma Center for the Book, Oklahoma Center for Poets and Writers, Oklahoma Department of Libraries, Oklahoma Historical Society, Oklahoma Library Association, the Pocahontas Club, Rogers State University, Talala Area Public Library Supporters, and World Literature Today.


Will Rogers was born near Claremore and even nearer to Oologah, in the Cooweescoowee District of the Cherokee Nation. Throughout his life, he wrote and spoke about his birthplace and his people.  He loved home.  On May 25, 1924, he wrote, “I am mighty happy I am going home to my own people, who know me as “Willie, Uncle Clem Rogers’ boy who wouldn’t go to school but just kept running around the country throwing a rope.”  He did very well with the rope, with his life, and with his writing.  Will’s daily column was read by everyone.  He had a way of understanding the tragedy and comedy of people and events and putting his understanding into his writing.  He wrote the truth of injustice that was sometimes difficult to read.  America read it and reflected on it because Will Rogers wrote it.  He was beloved.

The Oklahoma Literary Landmarks Steering committee represents all the previous Landmarks, the Cherokee Nation, the sponsors, and the citizens of Rogers County .  The members include the Chair Michael Wallis,  Co-chair Julia Brady Ratliff, Dr. Richard Allen, Dr. Bob Blackburn, Betty Boyd, Jan Bryant, Glenda Carlile, John Cary, David Draper Clark, Denyvetta Davis, Clare Delaney, Beverly Dieterlen, Jon Douthitt, Sharon Douthitt, Emily Dunagin, Fernando Esté, Judy Randle, Eugene Earsom, Steve Gragert, Wayne Hanway, Marilyn Hinshaw, Guy Logsdon, Lynn McIntosh, Carol McReynolds, Susan McVey, Lisa Melchior, Teresa Miller, Karen Neurohr, Bethia Owens, Shari Parks, Tom Terry, Cara Cowan Watts, Pat Weaver-Meyers, Irene Wickham, Harlene Wills, Phyllis Yargee.


If you are interested in placing an Oklahoma site on the FOLUSA Literary Landmark Register, contact FOLIO at (918) 743-5751.  Narratives about the Oklahoma Literary Landmarks can be found at The entire Register of Literary Landmarks is at:

Agenda for the Dedication

Master of Ceremonies

Michael Wallis, Author

Will Rogers’ Cherokee Nation Today

Cherokee Nation Principal Chief Chadwick Smith

Cherokee Nation Youth Choir

Will Rogers Museum

Steven Gragert, Director Will Rogers Museum

Will Rogers, Cherokee Citizen

Cara Cowan Watts, Cherokee Nation Council

Friends of Libraries in Oklahoma

Gerry Hendon, First Vice-President, FOLIO

Oklahoma Department of Libraries

Susan McVey, Oklahoma State Librarian

Oklahoma Librarians

Jan Bryant, Oklahoma Library Association

Friends of the Will Rogers Library

Jon Douthitt, President, Friends of the Will Rogers Library

Will Rogers Library

Fernando Este, Director

Will Rogers, American

Julia Brady Ratliff, FOLIO

Dedication -- Michael Wallis

Oklahoma Literary Landmarks -

Literary Landmarks Register

Thank You for a Perfect Day.

Cherokee Nation for outstanding support as FOLIO prepared for the Will Rogers Memorial Dedication. Extra thanks for the lovely traditional meal and for the support offered

by your citizens.